Is it worth it?


I recently read a post about writers’ crazy lives. The following post, http://www.writewithwarnimont.com/crushing-writer-anxiety was about how writers manage their busy schedules while waiting for their writings pay off. After reading that incredibly helpful and informative blog, I felt compelled to write my own version of how writers deal with the challenges of waiting for their hard work to become profitable. It easy for my to write this, because I’m going through this very challenge right now. The author of the blog mentioned above is Mr. Joe Warnimont and he called being a writer “stressful”. I agree with him. I haven’t made much money off my writing career. I haven’t made enough yet to even cover my expenses. Not by a long shot. I’ve got back roughly 2% of the money I used to kick-start my career. I’m still waiting for my work to become profitable. But in the meantime, I do a couple different jobs that actually make money. Of course, I work for my Dad in the summer, irrigating. And I also have a small herd of cattle. As of yet, they really haven’t made me much money either, but I should have enough this year to be able to rake in a profit, even if it is a small one.

I guess the real question is, “Is being a writer worth it?” The stress, the bills, and heartache of being turned down time and again by agents and publishers, and not knowing if you’ll ever ever achieve your dream. Is it worth it?

My answer is: yes.

It takes a long time, but the day you’re finally accepted, that makes all your past problems seem small and petty. Even if you aren’t rich and famous yet, and you might never be, knowing that what you’ve written, what you love, is being enjoyed by dozens, or maybe even hundreds of other people make being a writer worth it.

I love what I do. And I hope that I’m not alone. I know there must be hundreds of other young people like me who are desperately trying to become a published author, and I hope they don’t give up. You must be patient. You must be strong. You have to have faith. And if it is meant to be, the Lord will show you the path you must take to succeed. All you have to do is wait and pray.

Good luck to all of you.   

Leave a Reply

