Caught in the Moment


For any of you writers out there, I’m sure you’ll understand when I say that I’ve been caught in the moment. It might be just a normal day, you’re at work, you’re at home, or maybe you’re at the county fair, and then all of a sudden, an idea hits you! It is the perfect ending to that book you’ve been working on, the one you’d come to a stand-still with because you were lacking incentive or inspiration  to go on. And just like that, an idea presents itself. Or maybe you’re given the sudden urge to begin a new book. Most of the time, I search for ideas, either to complete or continue the book I’ve been slaving over for what seems like an eternity. But the funny this is, that rarely am I able to come up with an idea on my own. It seems like the harder I dig into my brain for something usable, the more unusable my ideas become. Only once I’ve put the book out of my mind and go on about my business, will I find the answer that’s been eluding me.

Let the atmosphere capture your imagination! Maybe on that boring drive to work you’ll see a breathtaking sunrise that just makes you freeze (hopefully in a mental, not physical way, or else you might be in danger of driving off a cliff or something equally as unpleasant) as the plot of your story pieces its-self together in your mind, and all you have left to do is remember the details until you can make it to a notebook or keyboard. I’ve had these sudden bursts of mental creativity while weeding the garden, chasing after a calf, readjusting the sideroll wheels, or just sitting on the porch drinking a cup of coffee. Perhaps there is a certain song or movie that gives you ideas, or perhaps there is a perfume or potpourri that can awaken your imagination. Whatever it takes; always be on the lookout for the moment of creativity to find you. You’ll be surprised to discover how much you can do when you’re focused on doing something else.

Leave a Reply

