Happy St. Patrick’s Day


Today is the day everyone wears green in order not to be pinched. Today is the day when leprechauns come out of hiding to do chores on small farms and ranches, and the day children hunt for the end of the rainbow to find the elusive pot of gold. I know that St. Patrick’s Day is not nearly as celebrated as Christmas or Easter, Independence Day or Thanksgiving, but at my house, today is devoted to everything Irish. Having done a good bit of genealogy studies, I’ve found out that I have a background rich with Irish blood. And I’m proud to have that Irish ancestry, even though I don’t have red hair, green eyes, or an accent. Today we’ll have corned beef hash for breakfast, cabbage, soda bread, potatoes, and lamb stew for supper, the only thing we’re missing is turnips, as they are out of season in my area.  One day I’d love to visit Ireland to tour the castles, take in the scenery, sample the cuisine, and dig a little deeper into my family tree.

Even if you and your family don’t celebrate today, or you only wear the green to be safe from pinching fingers, I wish you a Happy St. Patrick’s Day, and hope it is full of good luck for you all. Maybe you’ll even find a pot of gold at the end of your rainbow.

May the wind be always at your back, and may the sun shine upon your face… 

Leave a Reply

