Something new


Okay, so recently I’ve been hearing a lot about this thing called NaNoWriMo. Being naturally curious, I Googled it. Here’s what I found: NaNoWriMo is a challenge for writers: every November a contest is held in which aspiring authors try to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. (Yikes, my longest book is 300,000 words, but it took me four years to write!) Then there is this thing called Camp NaNoWriMo. it is basically the same as the November contest, but you can enter at any time. Like, for example, you could enter right now. But since it is already the ninth day of the month, you have a shorter period of time. So what did I do? I created an account. So this November I’ll be entering the 30 day, 50,000 word contest. Yep. I’m crazy. But I think I might be able to do it! November is “down-time” for me, since the cows are already home from the mountains and haven’t started calving yet. So I’m going to see what I can do. I’d actually though about joining the ‘camp’, but by the middle of this month, I’m going to be too busy to do any writing whatsoever. But I’m looking forward to participating! By then, I’ll be done with all the editing on my western novel (should be completely done being published by then) and it’d be about time for something new to do!

So good luck to everyone who is in “Camp” right now, like Rachel at http://spilledxink.wordpress.com/ and I’ll be joining you soon!

Ah ha! Thanks to Kris at http://sugarxwolf.wordpress.com/about/ I found out what NaNoWriMo means: National Novel Writing Month!

Leave a Reply

