Author Interview Program part 3


Wow, I’m having a lot of luck with my AIP! Thanks everyone!

Without further ado, here is author Sarah Cradit!

 

What is your author name? Or do you use a penname instead?

 Sarah M. Cradit, which is my real name. I think I would only use a pen name if I was writing for a niche genre like epic fantasy. Then I’d probably go with something like Magicstar McDragonpants.

 

Blog: sarahcradit.wordpress.com

FB: https://www.facebook.com/houseofcrimsonandclover

Twitter: @thewritersarah

  

What is the title of the book you’re currently writing?

 Sarah: Although I am currently working on a book for my literary fiction series, House of Crimson and Clover, I am thinking of revisiting the YA series I co-wrote with a good friend years ago. It was quite long- spanning over 10 books, and then additionally a spinoff series. We hadn’t named each of the books yet, but the overarching series name was “Provincetown,” which was also the name of the fictional town in New England that the stories take place in.

 Provincetown follows the lives of the two main heroines, Ophelia and Emma, as they enter adulthood. Emma, ever the pragmatist, is entering medical school and dating Nicolas, an actor who is unlike her in every way. Ophelia, a writer, is trying to figure out what to do with her life, and is desperately looking for something to challenge her.

 Neither of their lives are serene though, as each deal with unthinkable obstacles. Emma, a boss that threatens her job and career if she does not do exactly what he says, and Ophelia, an ex-lover whose power knows no bounds, as the son of the man who runs the entire town.

 

What is the genre of your book?

 Sarah: I used to think it was YA, but now that the New Adult genre is starting to take hold, I think that is probably a better fit.

 

  What inspires you to write?

 Sarah: The act of creation. In a lot of ways, my brain operates in a very scientific and logical way, and my creative way of expressing that is through creation itself. This is why I tend to write long novels and series’, as opposed to short stories and standalones, as the bigger I build the world and the characters, the more attached I get, which is where my enjoyment comes in.

 I think there is a real liberation in the knowledge that you can create anything you want, and no one can ever take that from you. There are few things in life that are so guaranteed.

  

Self-publish or traditional publishing, and why?

 Sarah: Eventually I would like to try traditional publishing, but I like what self-publishing has to offer. I maintain full creative control, can publish/unpublish as I please, and would probably do an equal amount of marketing either way since most traditional houses nowadays require new authors to do most of their own promotion anyways. It means I get to keep my titles, design a cover that is meaningful to me, and have the flexibility to share it in any number of ways.

 I also think its an incredibly accessible route for people. No doubt it is more work and money- the editing, design, etc- to do these things yourself than to have a company doing it for you, but the end result is something you can still be incredibly proud of.

 

What advice would you give to an aspiring author?

Sarah: Self-doubt is normal. No, more than that, its necessary. If you aren’t asking yourself if your work sucks, then you are not self-aware enough to grow as a writer. So, embrace your self-doubt! Know that you SHOULD be asking yourself these questions, and then use the answers to be better. Most importantly, when you’re at your absolute lowest, don’t give up. Don’t ever listen to that voice that says, “yes…you are terrible,” because the truth is you’re probably not the best writer on the planet. But if that was your goal, then you probably never loved it enough to begin with. Do it because you love it, and don’t worry about being good enough.
Also, don’t go into publishing with starry eyes. I know the idea of an agent is a romantic and lovely notion, but I’ve seen so many indiie authors get taken advantage of by small vanity presses. Do your research. Do it some more even. Know exactly what you’re getting into. Sometimes self-publishing will be your best route, but even if it is, it also requires a lot of research. Find blogs from experienced epublishers, and read about their experiences. Regardless of what route you take, you simply need to be well-informed.

 There’s quite a bit of additional advice I could give, but I don’t want to get carried away 🙂 One of the things I enjoy most about blogging is the opportunity to write articles about my own writing experiences in the hopes it might be helpful to others starting out in their own writing journey.
 
Thank you so much Sarah!

Leave a Reply

