Author Interview Program #9


Today I had the pleasure of interviewing Ms. Rachel Poli who is a very talented young author. Rachel is a participant of the April 2013 NaNoWriMo Camp with a goal of 75,000 words!  

Where can we find you?
You can find me all over the internet! I am on Twitter as @RPoli3, and my blog of course, Spilled Ink (spilledxink.wordpress.com). I am on many other writing websites, as well.

What is your author name? Or do you use a pen name instead?
Rachel Poli is my author name. I don’t plan on using a pen name.

What is the title of the book you’re currently writing?
I am in the middle of a couple of novels right now. However, the one that is the closest to being finished (and most likely to be edited first) is my young adult novel Take Over.

What is the genre of your book?
It’s a young adult drama. But it’s not the type of high drama you see on TV with a million love triangles and hooking up with teachers. This is real drama, but it’s totally fiction all the same.

What inspires you to write?
My sister, Kristen, is the one who inspires me. I never would have gotten into writing if I wasn’t the annoying little sister who wanted to copy everything she did. She found a writing website so I of course had to join it because she did. Over the years, writing has become a passion for me and my goals in life changed surrounding this passion. I never planned on being any bigger than a preschool teacher, but now I plan on selling book after book and maybe even opening my own publishing firm with my sister. After nine or so years, my sister and I still share the joy of writing together. We have writing dates with each other and share ideas. Writing has brought the two of us much closer together. That bond and writing are two things that I never want to let go of.

Self-publish or traditional publishing, and why?
I’d be lying if I said I never looked into self-publishing. However, I plan on getting my novels published by traditional publishers. I am still new to all of this, so I would rather leave the publishing up to the professionals. I have thought about self-publishing a book of short stories and/or a book of poems, just so I can get my foot into the door.

What advice would you give to an aspiring author?
Being an aspiring author myself, I can only give advice that most writers here all the time, but it seems to be working for me so far. First, write a little bit every day. It will keep your mind open, help your ideas grow, and your creativity will flow endlessly. Second, read a lot. Reading both good books and bad books help because you can see what you should do and what you shouldn’t do. Learning new vocabulary is a plus, too. Third, never give up. Keep writing no matter what happens. If you get a rejection letter, frame it and stick it on the wall. They may have said no, but they still took the time to read it and respond back to you. I would prefer that over not hearing back at all. Fourth, write because you want to. Write because you love it. If you’re just looking for fame and money, you’re going to get squashed in the real world. Fifth, embrace the positive comments and seriously consider the negative comments. You may not like it, but my guidance counselor back in high school told me I was delusional if I thought I was going to publish a book. If she never told me that, I probably wouldn’t be trying as hard as I am. I want to prove to her and myself that I can do it because I know I can. Which brings me to the last piece of advice, believe in yourself. Because no one knows you better than you.

 

Thanks Rachel!

One thought on “Author Interview Program #9

  1. Pingback: Day Sixteen | Spilled Ink

Leave a Reply

