Author Interview Program: Lucky #13!


Today I had the pleasure of interviewing the lovely Ionia Anatolia Mariah Florescu-Martin (Ionia for short!). If you haven’t already met her, you should stop by her blog for a laugh or two. Without further ado, here she is! *Applause* 

 

Where can we find you?

 Other than with my nose in a book? Okay. 🙂 You can find me at http://readfulthingsblog.com, or on Twitter @readfulthings

 

What is your author name? Or do you use a penname instead?

 I do use a pen name, in fact I use a couple of them. I like to keep my writing separate from the other things I do in daily life, it helps me stay in “writer mode” when I need to get there. I may have multiple personality disorder but at least I have two other people to blame for my mistakes. 

 

What is the title of the book you’re currently writing?

 I am nearly finished with a book that will be traditionally published this Fall, appropriately entitled Autumn’s Arrival.”

 

What is the genre of your book?

 Literary fiction/speculative fiction

 

What is a 3-4 sentence synopsis of your book?

 Every life has seasons. We start out as seeds, change from color to color as life progresses and eventually wither with age. If you could relive but one day of your life again would you choose a happy one or one you would like to change? If you did things differently, would your life end up the same way?

 

What inspires you to write?

 Insanity. I have a voice in my head that will begin screaming at me and taking over all other areas of my life until the need is attended to. If I published everything I wrote I may not have any followers, so it is a process of elimination. The better stuff gets published, the rest clutters my desk eternally. 

 

Self-publish or traditional publishing, and why?

 I have done both. Currently, it is traditional publishing. I may at some point in  the future return to self publishing full time. I do like the freedom of choice you have with self publishing, and also the support networks out there (such as your lovely blog) are amazing. The indie author movement shows no signs of slowing down, and I am so happy to see it.

 

What advice would you give to an aspiring author?

 Write what you love, and write for yourself. The audiences are smart. They know when you are trying to hard to fit your work somewhere just to make a nickel. The best payment there is, in my opinion, is to have fans that return to you because they truly appreciate your writing. This is not the easiest business to be in. There are joys and disappointments just as there is with anything else worth doing in life. Make it your own, publish it the way you want it to be published and remember that free advice is free for a reason (yes, mine included.)

Image

8 thoughts on “Author Interview Program: Lucky #13!

  1. Thank you for the lovely interview. If there is anything I can do for you, please never hesitate to ask. It is really weird seeing me answering questions instead of the other way around!

  2. Great interview of a great blogger and friend. I’ve got a question for Ionia. How do you keep track of which type of books go with which pen name? Is there a reason you picked the specific name for that type of book?

Leave a Reply

