Why I write


After commenting on a post by Charles Yallowitz about what inspires him to keep writing, he urged me to write about what inspires my writing and keeps me going. And here they are: 

1. My love of literature that I gained in third grade

2. The dream I’ve had since I was thirteen to be able to write a novel

3. The hope that my name will one day be associated with great western books just like Louis L’Amour and Zane Grey.

4. Wanting to make my family proud

5. Prove to all the naysayers that I can do this, even without a degree in English or Creative Writing

6. My wish of sharing literature that is appropriate for all ages and can be enjoyed by all

7. Knowing that I’d rather be writing a book than having an office job

8. Hoping that when the day comes that I have children, they will be proud to have me for their mother and they can read my books and just smile.

9. Having to write down ideas as the inspiration flows into my head and has nowhere else to go.

10. Hoping that one day my work will make earn enough income that I can live comfortably and debt-free.

 

So there you are. Here are my ten reasons for writing. These are my inspiration.  

 

20 thoughts on “Why I write

    • LOL! I’m with you!
      And no one knows. Up until third grade, I hated reading. Hated it! And then one day, I picked up a book and started reading. After that, you couldn’t keep me away from books. I read constantly, whenever I could: late at night, early in the morning, when I was supposed to be doing my chores…you get the idea! 🙂

  1. As the owner of a Creative Writing place mat . . . I mean degree, I can tell you that it isn’t necessary. Also, I’m sure your future children are going to be proud of you and your writing.

  2. This is very nice! I might take the idea off you as well! You see the simple of the thing is that we love writing and we couldn’t do otherwise! As simple as that!!!! Well done! And you’ll manage!

  3. Your list made me smile. I actually wrote about writing down why we write a couple of days ago and I can honestly say that 7 out of your ten reasons are why I write. You have given me another ounce of oomph to cancel my summer classes that I haven’t signed up for lol. Love it!

    • Ah, thank you! I guess one of my goals should have included inspiring people. I never knew my words could do that, but I’ve had several people tell me this, and each time I hear it, I feel both humbled and proud. Thank you for stopping by Kaye! 🙂

Leave a Reply

