Author Interview Program #20


Yah! I’ve got another author it interview! Please welcome this very talented young author: Ms. Elaine Jeremiah.

Where can we find you? (website, blog, twitter, facebook, etc.)

I have a blog which can be found at: http://elainejeremiah.wordpress.com and I’m on twitter: @ElaineJeremiah I don’t currently have an author Facebook page but I may set one up eventually.

What is your author name? And is it a pen name?

Elaine Jeremiah is my real name. I’ve pretty much decided not to use a pen name. I think my name is fairly unusual anyway, so I don’t see much problem with using it. And I don’t mind people knowing that I’m the author of my work.

What is the title of the book you’re currently working on?

I’m currently editing my novel ‘The Inheritance’ but I’ve started another which has the working title ‘Reunion’.

What is the genre of your book?

‘The Inheritance’ is NA contemporary drama while ‘Reunion’ is women’s fiction.

3-4 sentence synopsis of your book:

‘The Inheritance’ is a modern reworking of ‘The Prodigal Son’, the parable Jesus tells in the Bible about the wayward son who demands his share of his inheritance, then leaves his father and brother and gets into a lot of trouble. I’ve updated it to present day England and instead of two brothers, I’ve changed it to two sisters living on their father’s farm in Cornwall. The younger one is headstrong and troublesome; she wants her inheritance immediately so she can go to London to live how she wants to. The elder sister is more sensible and loves living on the farm, helping their father to run it and she can’t see why her younger sister is in such a hurry to leave.

What inspires you to write?

I guess in part it’s the novels I read that have inspired me to write. There’s just something wonderful about being able to lose yourself in a good book, to enter into another world in your mind. I’d really love to be a part of that, to have my stories out there being read, adding them to all the great ones out there already.

Self-Publish or Traditional? Why?

For the moment I’m planning to go down the self-publishing route because I’d like my work to be in the public domain sooner rather than later. With a previous novel I wrote, I did apply to a few agents but got nowhere with it. It’s so time consuming and discouraging. With self-publishing you’re your own boss. You can do things your way and in your own time. I know that as an indie author you have to do all the marketing etc. yourself, but at least you’ve got more control over your writing career. And as a self-published author whilst you may not get an advance, you do get 70% of sales.

What advice would you give an aspiring author?

Well I’m an aspiring author myself really, but my advice for others would be to just keep practising. Keep honing your craft and don’t give up. If you’re persistent with your writing efforts, you’ll find that you’ll improve. Once you’re satisfied that you’ve finished your work in progress, you’ve been through it all thoroughly and had it read by others too, look at all the options. Decide what’s best for you, whether it be to go down the traditional route for publication or to try to self-publish. Remember that ultimately it’s you that has the power over your own future as an author.

Anything else you’d like to say to your audience?

Persevere! If you think about it there are billions of people in the world, so there’s a big enough audience out there for all kinds of stories. And definitely enough room for your story too.

IMG_1467

7 thoughts on “Author Interview Program #20

Leave a Reply

