Author Interview Program #21


I finally managed to get in touch with this gifted authoress and talk to her about some of her work-in-progresses! Please give Ms. Kristen Poli a nice round of applause!

Where can we find you? (website, blog, twitter, facebook, etc.)The best place to find me is through WordPress, at sugarxwolf[dot]wordpress[dot]com.

What is your author name And is it a pen name?
My author name is Kristen Poli, and it is not a pen name.

What is the title of the book you’re currently working on?
I have a few novels in the works at the moment. The one that is garnering most of my attention at the moment is tentatively called “Crown.” My other novels in the works are called “Bloodwork,” “Downfall,” and “Beneath the Blue.”

What is the genre of your book?
“Crown” is a YA novel, as best as I can tell at the moment. The other three are all in the fantasy genre.

3-4 sentence synopsis of your book:
“Crown” is a novel centered around Crystal, the new student, at a privileged New York City high school. She will need to learn how to maneuver not only between classes and extracurricular activities, but also the drama and lies that descend from her new classmates. Time will tell if Crystal will succumb to their peer pressure, if she will rise above it, or if she’ll twist it around entirely.

What inspires you to write?
I first started writing after being inspired by my favorite video games and soundtracks, to be honest. The gorgeous fantasy worlds and twisting plots of the games and the sounds of music sparked my creative energy. How brilliant would it be to live in a world where fire and ice could dance together, where animals could spin tales as well as any human, where the clouds were made of marshmallows and floated in a maroon polka dotted sky. Nowadays, my muses still get a good boost from video games, movies, and music, but my family is also a source of amazing inspiration. Everyone is supportive of my need and want to write, especially my younger sister Rachel whom shares my passion. Having someone who understands everything you are going through on this journey to being a writer is fantastic, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

Self Publish or Traditional? Why?
I would prefer traditional, considering it seems more professional, but I wouldn’t mind trying my hand at self-publishing. Self-publishing would give me more control, despite the additional work on my end, and it would certainly help my credentials as an author when I do find a traditional publisher.

What advice would you give an aspiring author?
Read everything you can get your hands on, in all sorts of different genres. Take risks. Take a walk. Talk to people. Be inspired. Be inspiring. Most importantly, keep writing and never give up. Honestly, as an aspiring author myself, actually getting all of those words down on paper is the toughest aspect of being an author. However, if you have the burning need to keep writing, if you have ink rather than blood running through your veins, then you’re well on your way to becoming an author.

Leave a Reply

