Writer’s Block


I have a question for all you authors out there: do you believe in writer’s block?

Has there ever been a time where you just couldn’t write? Where absolutely no inspiration came to you whatsoever? Why do you think that happened? Was it writer’s block, or was it something else?

I know that last winter I found myself with free time on my hands, yet I was unable to write. I don’t know why that was. I wanted to write. But I couldn’t. I tried adding to one manuscript, but nothing sounded right. It was hard for me to edit or write new books, too.

Has this happened to you? What did you do?

32 thoughts on “Writer’s Block

  1. It happens sometimes. For me, it’s usually stress or a slight burn out. I try to muscle through it or take a day off to do something else. Typically, this is playing around with another project. I think even the great ones have their off days.

  2. I won’t say that it’s writer’s block, but there are times when I hit a wall and because it’s hard work to find a way around it, I’ll distract myself with easier things to do. Having finished two complete manuscripts now, I’ve noticed I follow this writing pattern:

    Part I. Woo hoo! I’m starting a project! This is exciting! This is great! Look at me go!
    Part II. I’m still going! I’m running into some snags, but that’s okay! I’ll clean it up later!
    Part III. Oh-oh, I’m in too deep. I’ve written too much to turn back. But I can’t seem to get myself over the hill toward the ending!
    (that’s where I start doing dishes and cleaning bathrooms…until I can get over the hill.)
    Part IV. The ending is in sight! Here we go!

  3. I have it happen far too frequently for my tastes, but I write anyway, even if it isn’t very good. Then I write some more until the slump breaks. I don’t know of any other way for me to push through my writers block. Hang in there, it will pass. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m not sure why, some days, I am unable to produce even one ‘creative’ thought. It happens, though. And no, I don’t believe in writer’s block. There is always something to write. Even a handwritten thank you note can be creative…or how you view the present day. Keep all the bits and pieces. Interesting discussion to begin.
    Ellespeth

    • Writer’s block = no such thing.
      Just keep writing and you’ll make it through the ‘no creativity’ moments.
      this is advice I’ve heard several times, so it much be true! lol
      Thanks Ellespeth!

  5. That’s a tough one.
    I know it happens to some people (only instead of normal wall-blocks, they have skyscraper-castle-wall-blocks).

    For me, it’s more like struggling to get through certain scenes. I sit there for awhile, stare at the screen, type one sentence, do more staring. Eventually I get through it.
    But I’m having some major issues on one of my newer projects and I’m wondering if I’m gonna have to call it completely. I’m not sure yet. I might give it a few more tries.

    Some times are more difficult to write than others for everyone, but maybe all a person needs is a good dose of inspiration. Who knows?

    I guess to answer your questions:
    Sort of. And . . . it just happened.
    I don’t know.

    Wow, I just realized how COMPLETELY unhelpful this comment was. I just had to comment because it was so relevant to the night I just had writing. Sorry!

    • Hahaha! Thanks Chellie! Your comment was helpful because I was just wondering if any of you authors ever get ‘writer’s block’ or just sometimes are at a time where there is no new creativity or inspiration to write. It’s happened to me, and I was just trying to figure out if it was just me.
      But from the trend I’m seeing, everyone says: Keep writing. Just keep writing. Pretty soon, things will be back to normal.

  6. Writer’s block is what I call, ‘being too close to the coal face’. When we’re too close to something, we can’t see what we need to do or think about next. A good remedy is to take a break, talk to a friend, watch rubbish TV, grab a coffee, make lunch or best of all go for a woodland walk. It works for me anyway.

    • So, just get your mind off the task at hand. Do something else that you enjoy, and pretty soon, you’ll be back writing with fresh ideas and new enthusiasm. I really like that! Thanks so much! πŸ™‚

  7. I had “writer’s block” for 10 years. It was a combination of life circumstance and a simple inability to see the story I wanted to tell. I wrote other things, but it was for work, so I didn’t consider it. I also had other outlets for my creativity, but again, it was work; it wasn’t the story that I wanted to tell. I had free time, I had ideas, but when it came to putting them on the page, I just couldn’t do it.

    I had an ah-ha moment right before New Year’s eve (this year) and finally broke through. I’ve been writing every day since. I still get blocks, but I force myself to write anyway. I’m sure there was something else going on (a form of depression or something) but I’m not letting it get in my way anymore. Everyone has different methods of coping. Now, when I can’t figure something out, I walk away, take a walk outside, abuse my treadmill, or watch something goofy and British with my son. Regardless of what I do, though, I always keep a notebook handy so I can write the flashes when they come.

  8. I agree that sometimes you just have to push through writer’s block, whether its your current project or another, and also you need to step away from your writing equipment and refresh. Sometimes a story needs to lie fallow for a while. Once I return, I find the ideas spring up once more.

  9. For me it’s less writer’s block and more like writer’s inconvenience. I may freeze in front of the computer screen, but I’ll start writing in my head when I’m supposed to be sleeping, or when I’ve gone for a walk, or I’m knitting. It’s inconvenient because I don’t always have something to write on or, in the case of knitting, I’m in the middle of a complicated pattern and I might muck it up if I (literally) drop everything to answer the muse in my head. But I’m trying to be more prepared for the (d**n) muse and have paper and pen always near by. And I have found that those scribbles can help me break through when I’m confronted with a blank computer screen.

    • So far, lots of people have said that you always need to have a pen and paper nearby, because one never knows when a new idea will hit. So that’s great Marie! Sometimes I crochet to get my mind off writing, and it usually does help! Thank you for the advice! Have an awesome weekend! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

