Self Promotion: Is it bragging?


Okay, here comes another book contest post. This one does come with some advice though, which I’m sure someone will appreciate.

Self Promotion seems somewhat selfish and pushy. But if you don’t promote your book, NO ONE IS GOING TO KNOW ABOUT IT OR BUY IT!

I found this out the hard way. Truly I did.

No self promotion = no book sales = depressed author.

I feel sort of bad about making all these posts trying to get people to buy my book, but it seems like after I’ve made one of these posts, I get 3 or 4 sales that week, which is awesome. And it is thanks to all my friends who reblog my posts, tweet about my book, post reviews, and do guest blogs about me and my work. Thank you everyone! You’re the best!

And of course, for those of you who might have missed my other posts, I’m trying to sell 100 eBooks by July. If I can do that, (I’m going to need 75 more sales for this to work, mind you!) I’ll be passing out some prizes. Three, to be exact: a PDF pre-release copy of my book Me and Billy the Kid, an Amazon e-gift card, and a Kindle e-gift card.

I’ve got two books for sale:
Ghost/mystery/western/YA (or MG) The Night I Walked off of Boot Hill: http://www.amazon.com/Night-walked-Boot-Hill-ebook/dp/B00BC1H1XA/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1363896321&sr=8-2&keywords=the+night+i+walked+off+of+boot+hill

Romance/western/YA The Untold Story of Margaret Hearst alias Maugrim Valletta: http://www.amazon.com/Untold-Margaret-Maugrim-Valletta-ebook/dp/B00BBY3LLE/ref=pd_sim_sbs_kstore_4

24 thoughts on “Self Promotion: Is it bragging?

  1. To me, self-promotion isn’t bragging. It’s marketing. You can taking a bragging tone toward it, which isn’t the best idea, but there are definitely ways to market your own work from the perspective that you’re marketing a 3rd party work: focusing on tag lines, ratings, the fact there’s a sale underway, etc. πŸ™‚

  2. your self-promo posts aren’t braggy, for sure. I definitely feel your pain in being uncomfortable writing them, but they don’t come across in a braggy “look at me I’m the best” fashion

  3. I am with you in as much as the self-promotion thing is hard to do and you do feel like you’re constantly nagging people, I am exactly the same. I just did the free promotion on Amazon and was really impressed with the download figures although I did bombard Twitter about eight times per day. There is a fine line between getting it right and overdoing it but from what I’ve seen, you’ve nothing to worry about yet. I’ve not got my copy yet but I have just had a voucher for my birthday so will aim to download yours and a couple of others I’ve been promising to tomorrow. And if you get chance, check out mine too! Take care and good luck! πŸ™‚

  4. I think most writers and artists hate self-promotion. We are introverted by nature. We want to sit at our desk or drawing table or easel or whatever and create, not to talk about ourselves. I’m inspired by your making yourself do so! I need to more, too!

Leave a Reply

