Under the Influence – Part 1


Okay everyone, brace yourselves. I’m tackling a new topic today. This topic is one I feel very strongly about. Yes, dear readers, I’m talking about alcohol. I know right off there are going to be those of you who agree with me, and those of you who might quit reading this post right about now.

Some say that money (greed) is the cause of all evil. I think its alcohol. I’m going to be making a series of posts about this topic, and today’s post is about the negative affects alcohol has on you, physically. (There are a number of things alcohol hurts and/or negatively affects, but bear with me here.) I figure if my first argument is scientifically backed, I might have a few more people see the truth in my words. But, again, science isn’t always true. Some say the dinosaurs went extinct over 200 million years ago, which is a lie (to the Christian faith, the earth’s been around about 10,000 years. But that’s a discussion for another post/rant.)

Here goes.

If you drink more than one alcoholic drink* a day:
Your chances of having arthritis/gout or dementia when you get older increases
Bigger chance of getting liver, breast, mouth, pancreas, and esophagus cancer
Heart disease and/or stroke is possible, thanks to the increased blood pressure
Possibility of your kidney failing or becoming enlarged
Probability of your liver disintegrating (yes, you heard that right)
Nervousness, insomnia, and depression
Chance of either becoming anorexic or obese
Negatively impacts nearly every organ, i.e. brain, heart, liver, stomach, kidney…

Okay, so what does that tell you? Are you doing your body a favor by drinking? Can’t you see that by drinking heavily, you’re slowly killing yourself?

Are you helping or hurting yourself and your loved ones? That will be the topic for my Under the Influence post next week. Stay tuned. You’re not going to want to miss that.

* “One drink” breakdown as follows:
12 oz of beer (one can or bottle)
10 oz wine cooler (one bottle)
¼ oz of hard liquor (rum, whiskey, vodka, etc.)
4.5 oz wine (small glass)

2 thoughts on “Under the Influence – Part 1

Leave a Reply

