My New Book


Cord had to work hard to earn her living as a cow puncher, and she was getting along just fine until a wealthy rancher moves into the county and threatens the lives of her and her friends. Cord rises up to meet every challenge, but the death of friends, both old and new, plague her at every turn. And just when everything seems like it is going to go back to being peacefully normal, a secret comes to light, putting Cord and her future family in danger. Will Cord let go of her sorrow filled past and revengeful wishes long enough to save her loved ones and pull her life back out of the bottomless pit it seems to be stuck in?

Find out in my upcoming book, “A Girl Named Cord”
Available on Amazon.com as a paperback and Kindle version in July.

14 thoughts on “My New Book

    • Thanks! Yes, this is the description I’ll be putting on the back cover. This next week I plan to finish up editing, and see if I can’t wrestle up a few beta readers. I also need to pester my sister to get to work on the cover art. But my fingers are still crossed for a July release date. I was shooting for the 4th of July weekend, but not sure if I’ll be ready by then.

      • Cool. I have to be honest that I’m not entirely sold on the description. To me it feels like too much and too specific. Almost like you’re giving a step-by-step announcement on the plot. It’s really the ‘years go by’ section, which feels like it’s part of a different story or a part that I’d get to eventually just by reading. It cuts the edge and suspense you were building at the beginning because it feels like you’re telling us that wealthy rancher and family danger are dealt with about halfway through the book. I really like that final question though. Maybe ‘hole’ or ‘pit’ would have more oomph than ‘rut’.

        Remember that you can always bear spray me and tell me to shut up.

      • Hmm. Just when I thought I did a good job, too! Maybe this would work better as a synopsis. Alrighty, how does this sound? Cord had to work hard to earn her living as a cow puncher, and she was getting along just fine until a wealthy rancher moves into the county and threatens the lives of her and her friends. Cord rises up to meet every challenge, but the death of friends, both old and new, plague her at every turn. And just when everything seems like it is going to go back to being peacefully normal, a secret comes to light, putting Cord and her future family in danger. Will Cord let go of her sorrow filled past and revengeful wishes long enough to save her loved ones and pull her life back out of the bottomless pit it seems to be stuck in?
        Better? Beware, if you answer ‘no’, I’m going to have to go get the bear spray! 😉

      • Much better and not because you’re threatening with bear spray. You did what many of us do. You tried turning the description into a small book. Always a challenge to pick and choose what to put in there without going too far.

        Now, what’s a cow puncher? I just have this image of a professional boxer uppercutting a rampaging bull.

      • *evil grin* Bear spray, it work’s every time.
        Seriously though, thank you for telling me what you thought about the description. I really appreciate your sage advice.

        LOL! A cow puncher is another term for cowboy (cowgirl). There is also cow poke. I do like your mental picture though, speaking of, have you seen Real Steel with Hugh Jackman?

  1. Hey, there. I agree with Charles. I’m thinking you could stop with the sentence before “Years go by …” I was hooked by that point and mentioning a secret that could change everything set the hook a bit deeper (sorry, I know you don’t fish :)). Of course that makes for a very short description …

    • Alright, two votes for cut the ‘years go by’ scene. What do you think about this: Cord had to work hard to earn her living as a cow puncher, and she was getting along just fine until a wealthy rancher moves into the county and threatens the lives of her and her friends. Cord rises up to meet every challenge, but the death of friends, both old and new, plague her at every turn. And just when everything seems like it is going to go back to being peacefully normal, a secret comes to light, putting Cord and her future family in danger. Will Cord let go of her sorrow filled past and revengeful wishes long enough to save her loved ones and pull her life back out of the bottomless pit it seems to be stuck in?
      And even though I don’t like fishing, I do have a father and a brother who do. And most of the time, I have to set up my brother’s fishing pole for him. So I know what you mean! 😉

Leave a Reply

