A Ranch Girl’s Life


After my post asking what you all wanted to hear, there were several people who asked me to talk more about ranching, cows, and my life as a farmer/cowgirl. Also, L.Marie asked for a picture of my favorite cow, Fluffy. So here she is!

100_4425
(Fluffy is the short, white faced heifer)

Okay, and now more about my day riding fence.
Firstly, I was amazed at all the flowers! Hot pink, baby pink, bright yellow, white, red, purple, and blue. Sitting in the passenger seat of the Gator, I was taking pictures one after another as my dad sped down the road. I felt like Jim Carrey in that movie, “Yes Man” after he’d drank a case of Red Bull and went to his girlfriend’s jogging and photography class. Yep, that was me, flying down the road, camera flashing. Here’s a few of the pictures I was able to capture.
100_7397

100_7399

100_7400

100_7401

100_7404

Okay, so after three hours of climbing vertical hills and sliding down the other side, stringing up wire, putting in stays, cutting up dead trees, and standing up the fence, we stopped to drink some tea at a little reservoir. This is what I found there.
100_7418
(Yes, that’s a bear track)

After that, we moved on to another stretch of fence. No more steep climbing, but the oak brush and undergrowth was very thick and if I hadn’t been born with an innate sense of direction, I’d have easily gotten lost. πŸ˜‰ Saw some deer, whistle pigs, and chipmunks. Here’s what I’ve decided about our mountain permit: we need some escalators. A little less oak brush would be nice. Whoever planted all those dead aspen trees had better hope that I never catch up with them. Also, in 100 degree heat, sweat seems to turn bug spray into something like human frosting for the hordes of flies and mosquitoes that hide in the underbrush.

Nine hours later, I am so glad to be home. I’ve had two big glasses of chocolate milk and just finished eating a sloppy joe and some french fries. The boss says that we’re a little more than halfway done. So I think I’ll be headed back up on Saturday. But until then, I’m glad to be back to the ‘mainland’.

13 thoughts on “A Ranch Girl’s Life

    • LOL! I am pretty tired! Walked around through the tall thorn-covered bushes with sunburnt legs wasn’t much fun, either! πŸ˜‰
      Thank you! Glad you liked them! But a picture just can’t capture the real beauty of nature, the color of the sky and trees, and the delicate little flowers.

    • LOL! She was born that way! πŸ™‚ (Heifer or cow means girl. Bull or steer means boy.)

      Most of my cows are white-faced, because I really like Herefords. And since my dad isn’t that crazy about them (he loves his black angus) I get black white-faced girls. I have a few red ones, but some of my favorite are grey with white faces. I also have one that looks like a longhorn, white with red patches and a black nose. But all my cows are polled. (No horns)

      Hahahaha, maybe I should make a post devoted to cows. Have to go back into my archives to find more pictures for you. πŸ˜‰

  1. Thanks for this post, Briana! You do live in beautiful country, but, man, what hard work it is to maintain a ranch! My brother-in-law had a dairy farm up until the mid-1990s. It was a family farm (I think it started with his grandfather) and he worked it with his dad and brothers and his sons. It was brutally hard work, especially in the summer when they had plowing to do on top of all the other chores. His day would start at 4 or 5 AM and didn’t end until 10 PM. He eventually sold the farm (at a loss) because none of his three boys wanted anything to do with being a dairy farmer. My sister was real happy that they sold the farm, but I know my brother-in-law still misses it. It was his life and it meant a lot to him. Looking forward to hearing more tales about life on the ranch πŸ™‚

    • My pleasure Marie! πŸ™‚

      Thankfully, the earliest I have to get up is 5 AM (I am not a morning person, at all!) Of course, I don’t like being up too late either. And summer is always busier than winter. Which makes me wonder why I always look forward to summer around February or March. LOL

      That is what happens a lot here, too. Men, or couples, build huge cattle empires and then none of their kids want to carry on the legacy. It is a sad but true reality in any agriculture business. 😦

      My next ranch theme post will be a romanticized version of cowboying. I’m going to put aside all negativity and hard work and try to pain a picture my readers will be able to sit back and dream about. (It’ll be a stretch, but I’m going to try!) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

