Blog Tour: The Inheritance by Elaine Jeremiah


Please welcome Ms. Elaine Jeremiah!

IMG_1467

What is the name of your book?

The Inheritance.

Do you remember what sparked your interest in being an author?

I’ve loved reading since I was very young.  I guess I’ve always wanted to be a story teller, partly because of my love of reading.  I decided that I would love to tell my own stories, to write my own book.  I’ve been experimenting with writing for many years, but it’s only recently that I’ve really focussed on it so much.

Did you self-publish this book, or go the traditional route? How did you make the
decision?

To be honest it was an easy decision to self-publish.  A few years ago I completed my first novel and emailed it to a few agents but had no favourable replies.  So I felt with ‘The Inheritance’ that I wanted it to be read as soon as possible by as many people as possible.  Because going down the traditional route takes a long time, and is so difficult to have success with, I decided that it would be best to self-publish.

If you could go back and write this book all over again, would you do everything the same?

No.  I think the story is a strong one but stylistically some of the dialogue isn’t as good as it could be.

Pick your favorite sentence from your book and share it with us.

‘As she was sitting surrounded by her belongings in plastic bags, Emma wondered how it had all gone so wrong for her.’

How did you come up with the title?

The story revolves around my character Emma blackmailing her father into giving her her inheritance early so that she can leave the farm she lives on, which she hates, and go to London to live with her wealthy friend.  So calling the book ‘The Inheritance’ seemed obvious.

TheInheritance

Who did the cover?

My husband.

What was your favorite part about writing this book?

I think my favourite part was developing the story and the characters from the initial inspiration.  I know a lot of writers say this, but the characters took on a life of their own and it was great to see how the story changed as the characters grew and new ones emerged.

And what was the hardest?

Research.  I didn’t have much to do, but I really don’t enjoy it!  However, having the internet at my fingertips helped a lot.  Although there are some things it can’t tell you.

Is there anything you find especially challenging about being an author?

I think the main thing I find challenging about being an author – apart from research – is sticking to one idea or theme of my story.  I may want to change some aspects of it along the way, but I think it’s important for me to try to stay with the one central idea I’ve come up with.  That makes it less confusing for me than if I veer too far away from the original idea.

Do you have a motto or a special quote you kept in mind while writing?

Not really, but I like to think that there whilst there may be millions of books out there, there are also billions of people and so there’s a place for my book too.

Think back ten years. Did you ever see yourself making it to this point where you were publishing your first novel?

Definitely not, certainly not self-publishing like this.  I don’t think that publishing digitally like this even existed back then, so this is a wonderful opportunity for me to get my work out there for people to read.

What advice would you give to a person just starting out as a writer?

Keep on writing, keep persevering.  That way you’ll improve as a writer and have a greater chance of success.

What tips can you give to the rest of us?

Pretty much the same as above.  I think we all need to practice, to hone our craft.  Even published authors improve their style over time.  We can always be better than we are now if we keep writing.

The Inheritance Links

Amazon UK

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Inheritance-ebook/dp/B00ESLWOW4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377868191&sr=8-1&keywords=elaine+jeremiah

Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/The-Inheritance-ebook/dp/B00ESLWOW4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377868304&sr=8-1&keywords=elaine+jeremiah

Goodreads

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18400882-the-inheritance?from_search=true

Find me:

My blog

http://elainejeremiah.co.uk

Twitter

@ElaineJeremiah

9 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Inheritance by Elaine Jeremiah

  1. Your favourite line pretty much sums up The Inheritance – where indeed did it all go wrong for Emma? It makes for a good story! I totally agree with you about the need to persevere. Writing and getting published takes time but it’s worth it in the end. Great questions Briana. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Interview with Martin Lake for ‘The Inheritance’ | Elaine Jeremiah

  3. Pingback: My blog tour links | Elaine Jeremiah

Leave a Reply

