A review


A new review for A Girl Named Cord.

I read this book in two days flat, and it was just what I needed – an engaging, fast paced, plot driven adventure full of drama, taking me deep into another world and distracting me from this one for a while. The Western genre is well invoked, not only by vivid descriptions, but by the authentic dialogue which I could almost hear as I read it. I quickly grew to care about the central character, and was glad to see a plucky, female lead who showed great courage and love.

The writing is clear and uncomplicated, and in this modern world of turmoil and cynical disbelief in happy endings, I enjoy reading such stories, and seeing things turn out exactly as they should, or would – in an ideal world. I read for different reasons, and for pure entertainment and distraction this book fitted the bill perfectly. It would have benefited from slowing down a bit at times, to give room for a bit more background and character development, as occasionally the action lacked obvious roots. However, I enjoyed the fact that it was delivered in two parts, the second set many years later, which satisfied my impatient wish to know how things turned out in the long run, and gave the whole thing a pleasant, epic feel.  I would happily read more work by this author.

Thanks to Harula for this great review! 🙂

You can purchase A Girl named Cord here: http://www.amazon.com/A-Girl-Named-Cord-ebook/dp/B00E91QL7W/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1375371493&sr=8-2&keywords=a+girl+named+cord

a girl named cord (2)

12 thoughts on “A review

Leave a Reply

