Merry Christmas to all


No, not ‘Happy Holidays’.

Not ‘Season’s Greetings’, either.

It’s Merry Christmas.

Yes, these days we live in a politically correct world where the phrase “Merry Christmas!” isn’t always acceptable, but on this blog, it is.

I honestly do not mean to offend anyone, but I’m not changing who I am. People can either accept me for who I am, or they won’t. Either way is fine by me. Now, I’m in no way trying to be disrespectful, of course. But I was raised a certain way, and out here in the country, my upbringing suits people just fine.

Today, the official first day of winter, in a snowstorm, I headed out to deliver Christmas gifts to some friends. Now, there are certain days of my life (mind of an author comes in to play here) that I could almost imagine it being the perfect snapshot for an old fashioned Christmas card or part from a book from the days of old. And when my friend’s little girl came running out to me and I scooped her up in a big hug and handed her dad a box of presents, that was one of those moments for me. I gave her mom a hug, and we all stood there by the fire visiting for a good fifteen minutes. And there was no worry of offending anyone by exchanging “Merry Christmas’s” when I said goodbye, either. Next stop was the house of a lady I usually go riding with in the summer and then to my dad’s permit partner’s house. I respect and admire both of these ladies, who have been riding up on the mountain for over thirty years. When I stepped into each of their houses, we exchanged gifts and hugs, then sat down to visit and have a cup of coffee, thus another of my ‘snapshot moments’ was born. I returned home loaded down with strawberry jam, pecan rolls, peanut brittle, cupcakes, and priceless memories.

And that’s what Christmas is to me. A time for friends and family. No expensive gifts or newfangled hi-tech gadgets, just homemade gifts given with love and goodwill. Of course, it is also the time to celebrate the birth of our Lord Jesus. And to be thankful. I have so much to be thankful for. This past year, while not always perfect and easy, was a good one and I learned a lot and made some really special friends.

So, to all my wordpress friends and family, I hope you all have a Merry Christmas and are blessed with much health and happiness. And may your New Year be the best that it can be.

“God bless us, every one!” – Tiny Tim (A Christmas Carol)

 

11 thoughts on “Merry Christmas to all

Leave a Reply

