The end…


For my 300th blog post, I thought it was a good time to post a very important question that has been plaguing me for some time: When is the end of your book really the end? How do you decide when its time to stop? How do you end your story? (Fine, so that’s more than one question. Yes, I know how to count…)

What is the best way you’ve found to end a book? With a quote? A poem? A question?

How do you like other’s books to end? Do you want left asking questions? Or would you rather have every question answered in great detail?

The End

26 thoughts on “The end…

  1. Depends on the story and what the climax is. I try to end with a fun quote or some type of foreshadowing since I’m doing a series. The important part is closure though. You need to give the reader a sense that the story is over in a way that isn’t a shock to the system, but isn’t so mysterious that they’re not sure of the ending.

  2. Even when a book leaves something unresolved to be picked up with a sequel, I still like some sense of closure, a satisfying ending. For me to enjoy it, there should be a conclusion, an end point that I can feel something significant occurred, a culmination of events that indicates resolution to the issues brought up in the story line.

    • I’m like you, I don’t want to get to the end of the book and be like, “Wait a minute! What happened?” lol.
      I just seem to always write books with those kind of endings…. *blushing*

      • *Shuffles feet*
        I have two that I’m working one. But one is incredibly long and in need of an embarrassing amount of editing. The other one was coming along famously…right up until my computer crashed and I lost all my re-writes. I need someone to give me a good, solid kick so that I get back into writing gear! lol

  3. I find it really hard to end a story Briana. I’m not very good at it, but I’m getting there. It’s just knowing how to pull all the loose strings together, isn’t it, without it feeling forced. I have to say in novels that I’ve read I really don’t like unresolved endings.

    • I agree with you, I want the ending to have all the loose ends tied, but I am not sure if there is such a thing as too much detail at the end. What I mean is, trying to resolve everything without going too much into detail or not enough detail to still leave questions.

  4. This is an interesting question (or questions xD). I have four novels completed. None are edited as of yet, but that’s a whole other story…two of my novels end with “satisfaction.” Now, I know I have read some books and have said, “What a stupid ending!” so maybe these endings won’t “satisfy” the readers, but I brought everything back full circle.

    The other two novels are the first books in two different series. They both end with someone speaking. The novel I just finished the other day ends with the main characters revealing something that ends the first book in a cliff-hanger for the second one. The other novel I finished a year ago ends in someone speaking, but we don’t know who it is. We find out in the very beginning of the second book.

    Honestly, I end a book when the idea in my head says, “You got everything out, just end it.” Then I wait to add/delete things in the editing process. But depending on whether the novel is a part of a series or a stand-alone, I think that makes a difference on how it ends. Or that might just be me because I like cliff-hangers. 🙂

    Congrats on making it to your 300th post!

  5. Simple questions – difficult to answer. 😉

    The first inspiration covers some keywords, you know your focus. The real idea for the end evolves. There were two alternating ideas for the end. I evaluated the pros and cons and decided accordingly.
    I am not too fond of questions at the end of a book – I don’t even like them at the end of a chapter. I favour simple statements and/or conclusions. Depending on the story, a quote or a poem might also come in handy.
    Not every questions needs to be solved. There are stories that leave you disappointed either due to too many open questions or actually because every bit has been explained. Epilogues occasionally do more harm than good. Have you also experienced this: you read a story, really buy in and then – the epilogue ruins everything for you.

  6. I lie a real ending but some questions left for me to wonder. That’s what I aim for when I write too. I do know that if I don’t have the overall story/plot, right up to the ending, in my head when I start I never finish the book. It seems I run out of steam if I don’t have a clear finish line to reach! 🙂

    • Perhaps that is where I have the most difficulties…I really have no plot. I get an idea for a story, but have no idea how I want it to begin or end. I’ve thought about making outlines for my books, but I’ve always hated outlines…(English was not my favorite subject, as odd as that is.) 🙂
      Thank you, Helen!!!

  7. The ending is one of the toughest parts of writing. It has to pay off, have closure, answer the main thematic question, but leave a window open. Of the three books I’m working on publishing one has an ending I’m happy with that wraps everything in a nice bow. The second is similar to the cowboy riding off into the sunset for another adventure. The third is a goopy mess like a half-cooked pancake.

    The key, I think, is to have the ending fulfill the promises you have made during the course of the story.

Leave a Reply

