To Read or not to Read


I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. How many authors read their own book(s)? I mean, after the editing, formatting, editing, rewriting, more editing, and publishing the book, how often does an author go back and read the book? Just to read it. Not looking for typos or ways to improve the book. Just reading for entertainment. I have never done that. I feel like after being published, my poor books have been abandoned. I’ve been meaning to read one of my books, but haven’t set aside the time yet.

So what about you? Do you ever read your own books just for fun?

 

24 thoughts on “To Read or not to Read

  1. I’m interested to see answers to this question. I’m not there yet, and I have no idea whether I will or not. On one hand, I’ve read the first book about 500 times already (give or take). On the other, I still find it exciting, and it still gives me goosebumps… so maybe I will. 🙂

  2. I never open the book again. It’s done, finished and I’ve lived it. Still vivid in my mind. The minute one book moves out, the new one begins to unfurl and I’m busy writing it. I have waited many years to write and I want to get all of these people out of my head before I leave this earth. LOL But it is an interesting question. I’ve never thought about it before.

Leave a Reply

