Songs in a story


What is your opinion of a character singing? For example, (all you Hunger Games fans will know what I’m talking about) when Katniss sings to Rue as she dies, the author included the words to the song in the book.

But for those authors out there (okay fine, I’m talking about myself) who cannot come up with an original song, how do you go about describing how this particular character sings? Other than the obvious details like saying the singer has a deep voice or a soft voice, how do you really capture such a moment, such as when the hero of the novel sings to the heroine, effectively stealing her heart?

I am struggling to write such a scene. I have the perfect music video for inspiration, but I just am unsure if I should attempt to write a song, or if the song itself will only take away from the character himself.

Okay, so here’s my inspiration:

So what do you think? Song or no song?

8 thoughts on “Songs in a story

  1. Ultimately you’ll be only able to write lyrics at most and then describe the tune as Charles says for a literary work, but I think it’s a lovely idea. Oh, and I’m sure you know this but just in case, if you choose to have them sing a well known song that fits instead, make sure you get permission from the song-writer if it is still in copyright. 🙂

Leave a Reply

