Barbados Tom Q&A


Last Monday I decided to interview one of my book characters, Barbados Tom. Here’s how that interview played out.

Me: Good evening, Tom.

Tom: Howdy, ma’am.

Me: Thanks for coming to talk to me. It’s been awhile since we’ve spoken. Mind if I ask you some questions?

Tom: Don’t mind at all! This wouldn’t happen to have anything to do with the sequel to The Night I Walked off of Boot Hill, does it?

Me: Well now, I was actually going to lead up to that! But yes, I was going to talk about your new book.

Tom: That’s mighty fine! What sort of perils am I going to face in this next book?

Me: Well, you’re going back to Boot Hill.

Tom: *Looks doubtful* So you’re killing me off, are you?

Me: Not really. You’ll have to wait and see what happens, I don’t want to give away any details just yet, you see.

Tom: Alrighty then. So, when is this jolly good book going to be published?

Me: Probably next year sometime. I can’t say for sure yet.

Tom: You tease.

Me: I’m an author. It’s my job.

Tom: I see. Well then, didn’t you have some questions for me?

Me: Yes. Okay, first, how did you get the name Barbados?  Have you ever been there?

Tom: No, I’ve never been there. But when I was a youngster I heard stories of a fellow called Barbados Sam who took a trip to that island whenever he could. the island supposedly granted him invincibility and no lawman could touch him. I hoped the name would bring some good luck to my career.

Me: Oh. And how did that work for you? Did it go as planned?

Tom: You know, for being the author of my book, you’re poorly informed, my dear.

Me: This interview isn’t for my benefit, Tommy.

Tom: Hey now, no name calling.

Me: Actually, Tommy was your given name…

Tom: Never mind. Come on, what’s the next question?

Me: Um…

Tom: Um? For a person who makes your living with words, you sure don’t have much to say.

Me: I know everything about you. So asking you questions is hard. Its like I’m asking myself question.

Tom: I disagree. I am nowhere near as boring as you are.

Me: *growls*

Tom: Its true, you know.

Me: You do want to get killed off in the next book, don’t you?

Tom: *Backtracking* Of course not, I just meant that, well, um…

Me: And now we’re back to “Um.” Fine. This concludes our interview. Have a nice night, Tom. I’ll talk to you again soon.

Tom: Sounds like a mighty fine plan. G’night, ma’am. Night, folks!

2 thoughts on “Barbados Tom Q&A

Leave a Reply

