The Billy the Kid and D Files, Part 3


They were found on a roadside, deep in the Nevada desert. Part of a cache of documents obviously intended for a secure location, the files have been kept secret until today. Their earth-shattering contents will amaze, possibly frighten and answer the question: what happens when an infamous Old West gunslinger and a centuries-old time-travelling Druid meet up?

 Chaos. Card games. Drinking. And chaos.

Part 3: Cheers

D: Greetings on this lovely day! How is everyone!

Billy: D! Good to see you, pal! Goin’ great here! How in the heck are you?

D: Just grand, Billy. For once, I can say there is nothing wrong in my world (even A is behaving herself)!

Billy: This calls for a celebration! I don’t usually drink, but when the occasion calls for it…

Angel: Billy?

Billy: Yes?

Angel: Keep in mind that you’re talking to a real Irishman. He’d drink you under the table.

D: Ma’am, I am a Druid – I only drink when the rituals of my people call for it . . . of if my clan is celebrating a feast day. . . or if we’ve just won a great battle and are mourning the loss of our friends. . . or. . . Well, it’s been a while, Angel. I’m fairly certain Billy and I are evenly matched!!

Angel: In that case, I’ll go get the whiskey.

D: Billy – she’s a right keeper, that woman is! Angel in name and deed!

Billy: Yessir! Never met better. And beautiful to boot!

D: That’s a splendid combination! Will you lead us in the toast, Billy?

Billy: It would be my pleasure! Here’s to true friendship and never ending love! And my new best pal, D. Cheers!

Angel: Cheers!

D: Cheers – Sláinte . To your health, Billy and to your beauty, Angel!

Billy: Thanks D! Have another round! Sláinte !

Angel: You are really too kind, D. And no more for me, Billy.

D: Indeed – Cheers – to the wild men of the west, may they live on forever!

Billy: And to the free druids! May they be reunited with their lost loves and forever be victorious in battle!

D: Sláinte – Thank you, Billy! What do you say to that game we talked about earlier? Want to play a hand or two?

Billy: I’m in!

Angel: Oh no, now he’s going to be drunk and dirt poor. Billy, do remember that you’re playing against a friend. Give me your pistol.

D: Ma’am, it’s likely we’ll both be drunk and poor! And Billy, i haven’t a pistol, but I gladly surrender my long sword and the ceremonial dagger at my belt.

Angel: At least then it will be fair. And you can keep your sword and knife. Later I’ll call you out and see how good you are with that knife.

D: Trained with it since I was a lad of 3, ma’am. My father’s cousin was the clan man-at-arms and trained us all in the arts of war.

Angel: Then you are far too skilled for me. Richard started teaching me when I was eighteen, but before he died, he told me I was very good.

D: Oooh,I sense a story here – who is Richard? I have no doubt that you are very skilled. And in the state Billy and I could be in, you’d probably take me down easily!

Angel: Richard was my friend. He worked for the same man as Billy and I did. He became the closest thing to a brother I ever had. But then the war came and our boss was murdered. Richard led us into battle against those bad men. Then one day, he was gunned down. I was there with him as he took his last breath. I still have his knife. It is my most treasured possession.

D: Miss Angel, you give me the shivers. I’m sorry for your loss – it’s hard to lay to rest a man such as that. His memory lives on in you, and I think you do him proud.

Angel: The hardest part was, I didn’t even get to be there at his funeral. His killer wanted me dead, and Billy made me run away.

Billy: it was for the best, love.

D: I would have to agree. Sometimes we have to run in order to live and fight another day. I’ve run in my time. I’m not proud of it, but I’ve always ended up stronger for the fight to come.

Angel: I appreciate your kind words, D. You make me feel like what I did was not wrong. Thank you. Okay, now I think I need another drink.

Billy: Thanks D. I’ve been trying to tell her that for years.

D: We’ll raise a toast to you, Angel – a toast to living – to honoring those who have fallen.

Sometimes we just need to hear it from someone who isn’t as close to it as we are! I’m sure there is many a thing I’ve only come to understand now that my elders and friends tried to teach me long ago!

Angel: Sláinte ! Thank you, my friend.

Billy: Sláinte ! Say, D? I’m not sure if I can play cards anymore. I might have had a little too much……..

Angel: Billy? Hahahah! He passed out! I told him you’d drink him under the table, D!

D: Sláinte  – whoa, missed the chair! Hey Billy. . . what are you doing on the floor buddy. . . ?

Um . . . it looks nice and cool down there, Angel. . . I think I might. . . zzzzzzzzzzzzz……..

Angel: A? Briana? Little help? Please?

A: Oh boy. . . God, he had to be a big hulking Scot, didn’t he? Oof. . . he’s heavy. D! Yo! D! Wake up!

D: (Slurring) I’s a Pict, lady. . .

Brian: Billy! Come on! Get up! Rise and shine! Anyone have any ice water around?

A: Oh, please, Angel. Say you do. I will pay you to have ice water around.

Angel: It will be my pleasure, A. No money required. I’ve wanted to do this for years! But he always wore his gun and I didn’t want to get it wet…

A: Angel, you’re a life saver!! I can understand your restraint, but splash away, please!

Angel: Lovely. Watch out ladies!

Billy: Jiminy Christmas! What in the-?

D: Oh by the gods, that’s cold! Oh, A – Angel – Briana – how could you?! *shiver* Gods…

Billy, I don’t care what they say – women are most certainly tougher than men – meaner too. I think I have an ice cube lodged in my robe…

Billy: Darn womenfolk! Can’t live with ‘em and can’t live without ‘em! Come on D, let’s go find a towel or something!

D: Too right, Billy. I’m with you – see you, “ladies.”

Angel: Ta Ta.

Briana: Bye, guys.

A: Cheers, D. Bye Billy.

Billy: *frown* I guess that’s just tough love, D.

D: I suppose. I just wish they’d wipe those smiles from their faces!

Billy: If they smile any bigger, their jaws are going to dislocate theirselves.

D: Bloody harpies . . . no disrespect to Angel, of course. It’s just the glee. . . that’s what really gets to me.

Billy: Naw, look at her! Angel planned this! She’s laughing the hardest! Look, she’s crying!

Briana: You deserved it, Billy. She warned you.

Billy: I thought you said you’d let us men talk!

Briana: Angel needed help.

A: And you always deserve it, D. I was just happy to help!

Billy: Angel can take care of herself! Who put her up to the ice water?

Eh? She thought of it on her own, didn’t she?

A: *whistles* Um I’m pretty sure it was all of us… Sure. All of us.

D: Bloody woman.

Briana: Actually, I suggested it, but A was already thinking it. Angel just happened to have the ice on hand.

Billy: I give up. Let’s go find something to eat. Know of any diners that sell steak, baked potatoes, beans, and coffee at this hour? Apple pie would be good, too.

D: Collaborators. *Sigh* I think I know of a place. That child A purports to have raised eats well enough. Come with me. I’ll take you to a diner called Gus’ Drive-In. You like cars?

Billy: Cars? What’s that? Like horses?

Briana: More or less…

Billy: I’m not talking to you right now, Briana!

Briana: Actually, you just talked to me.

Billy: Confound it all! Let’s go, D!

D: Fancy horses, Billy – they’re the most marvelous things! See ya, ladies!

Billy: Sounds good! I had a real nice racehorse, once. Adios, girls!

Read more about D and A on their blog, http://dadialogues.wordpress.com/ 

Read Part 1 of the Billy the Kid and D Files.

Read Part 2 of the Billy the Kid and D Files.

Wondering how D and Billy met? It all started when A decided to go on hiatus

Leave a comment